The Broadway Critic Blog Quoted in “Song of Spider-man”

Screen Shot 2013-11-14 at 2.50.53 PM

Last week, I received a tweet from a friend, Jeffrey Miele saying this: “@abroadwaycritic any chance you were at the 1st preview of @SpideyOnBway? If so you’re quoted in #songofspidermam (pg 189)”. I tweeted him back and asked what it said, and lo and behold, it’s true — The Broadway Critic Blog was quoted in Chapter 11 in the new book Song of Spider-man: The Inside Story of the Most Controversial Musical in Broadway History written by the show’s book writer, Glen Berger.

I instantly bought the book on Amazon.com and waited for it to come in the mail. I went to pg. 189 and sure enough, there it is (pictured above)! Berger has quoted my writer, Sean O’Conner, in his review of the first preview. You can read the entire review here. What you don’t see in the picture above is Michael Reidel’s quote saying how much he loathed the production right underneath mine! Obviously, two very different opinions.

And there you have it… I know some readers weren’t very happy that I posted a “review” of the first preview of Spider-man: Turn Off the Dark, but now it’s a part of Spider-man’s history. I just kinda wish that the quote actually came true… 

I do have tickets to see Spider-man 2.0 in February 2014. Since I’ve only “reviewed” Spider-man 1.0 in the past I’m looking forward to seeing the changes that were made between the two versions (if I can even remember the original).

Hopefully the book is as interesting as the drama that has surrounded Spider-man over the last three years… I hope to read it this weekend.

I only wish they wrote “The” before “Broadway Critic Blog”, but it’s okay – I’ll take the quote where we can get it!

Have you read it? What are your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

