The 2011 Tony Award Performances

From the poll that I published on Monday, it looks like that the 2011 Tony Awards were a huge success! Currently, 71% of the people that took the poll said they absolutely loved them! Personally, I thought it was entertaining, interesting and I loved the performances, though I had some reservations about a few (specifically, why didn’t Josh Gad perform with the cast of The Book of Mormon).

The biggest issue I had was that they went over about 5 minutes and my DVR didn’t record the next program. Since, my TV wasn’t on CBS, it didn’t do any back recording. I missed the main event: when The Book of Mormon won Best Musical! But, as everyone knows by now, I’m okay with missing that speech.

But the closing rap, was absolutely stellar. Watch that here.

Here’s all of the 2011 Tony Award performances:

Anything Goes performing “Anything Goes”

 

Sister Act performing “Raise Your Voice”

 

Priscilla Queen of the Desert performing “It’s Raining Men”

 

Catch Me If You Can performing “Don’t Break the Rules”

 

How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying performing “Brotherhood of Man”

 

The Scottsboro Boys performing “Commencing in Chattanooga”

 

The Book of Mormon performing “I Believe”

 

Memphis performing “Steal Your Rock n’ Roll”

 

Company performing “Side by Side”

—-

And my favorite speech of the evening goes to Sutton Foster:

 

One thought on “The 2011 Tony Award Performances

  1. I’ve been wondering why Book of Mormon has pretty much no video of performances out there at all. Behind the scenes stuff, yes, but the Tonys was the first time I’ve seen any footage of them actually performing (as opposed to music playing with pictures).

Leave a Reply

