2011 Spring Broadway Posters

With all of this excitement about the upcoming Spring 2011 Broadway season, I thought I would post all of the new Broadway posters (minus Master Class and The Normal Heart). When producing a Broadway show, branding is very important. It helps with the buzz and the staying ability of the musical.

Back in the 80’s, branding became very important with shows like Cats, Les Miserables and The Phantom of the Opera. My guess is that most people would be able to describe what’s on any of those Broadway posters. Wicked’s branding has also become quite infamous. I even nominated Wicked as the best Broadway poster of the 2000’s.

I’m not sure if we have any shows in this list that will become as iconic as The Phantom of the Opera or Wicked but I do especially like How to Succeed… (though they are putting way too much emphasis on Daniel Radcliffe — what happens when he leaves?), Anything Goes and Sister Act’s posters.

Sister Act’s poster/branding has changed since it’s move from the West End to Broadway and I think for the better. But if you look at the War Horse and Priscilla Queen of the Desert (both West End transfers), their posters/branding have stayed the same.

Wonderland’s poster is unique and quite interesting, but it doesn’t stand out enough for me. The same goes for The People in the Picture – the emphasis doesn’t seem to be on the title of the show; it focuses on the picture of a little girl. While that probably goes along well with the story, it doesn’t bode well for a musical that know one has ever heard about it.

Now, I’ve posted two Catch Me If You Can Broadway posters. (Does anyone know which one is the official poster?) I love the simplicity of the first poster, but the pink tights/legs in the second poster grabs my attention. Neither poster is my favorite though. Several Broadway shows have re-branded their Broadway poster during their run. Generally, they start with their out-of-town tryout poster and sometimes they create a new poster for their Broadway run. Then, they might even change it for the national tour. Usually, they are all very similar in nature, but sometimes the focus changes. RENT’s posters have definitely changed over the years. Will the new Off-Broadway poster be tweaked? Right now, it’s just RENT on a white background (featured on the right). Shrek is another show that has changed their poster throughout the life of the show. I noticed a very different poster for the national tour when it came through San Francisco last December. It will be interesting to see what becomes of these two Catch Me If You Can posters.

My absolute favorite out of all of the musicals is Baby, It’s You. It’s cute, sexy, fun and makes me want to see the show. The buzz is just beginning on this show, so we’ll have to wait and see what happens with Baby, It’s You, but I absolutely love the poster. My favorite play poster is Good People. The featured photograph captures so much emotion. I don’t know anything about the play, but it makes me want to see it. You should check out the great article about Good People’s poster in the New York Times.

Which poster grabs your attention the most?

Do you think a Broadway poster/branding affects the buzz of a show?

Check out all of the 2011 Spring Broadway Posters below… and don’t forget to vote in our poll below.

Now it’s your turn to decide… what’s your favorite new Broadway poster?

Vote below.

Make sure you comment and let us know your thoughts…

3 thoughts on “2011 Spring Broadway Posters

  1. I think as much as people may deny it, shows a judged by their posters, just as books are judged by their covers.

    Personally, I like something that hints at the story, content and “feel” of the show – done very well in my opinion with Catch Me If You Can.

    What I personally detest is a poster that tells me nothing about the show, or relies on names alone to sell the show – this suggests to me that the content isn’t there in the first place and will make me much less likely to see the show: Born Yesterday and That Championship Season for example.

    One surprise in the list? Wonderland – after not hearing much buzz about the show I think the poster looksmreally interesting and actually makes me want to go see it.

    One final note: I walked past the Sister Act marquee the other day and can’t help but feel their main poster makes it look like Whoopi Goldberg is gonna be performing – she’s in huge letters and then a really small “presents” under that followed by the title. Wonder if they’ll get confused tourists…

Leave a Reply

