2011 February Bay Area Theatre Guide

And I thought January came fast. While I only saw a few shows in January, I saw some majorly epic productions.

First, I saw newly revamped version of Love Never Dies which was a train-wreck. Then I saw the over-publicized Spider-man: Turn Off the Dark and loved it. Last, I saw the touring production of Next to Normal which blew me away and tore out my heart out (again).

There’s several shows that are still running from January into February, so make sure you check out last month’s suggestions as well.

Broadway Cast Poster1. Next to Normal at Curran Theatre (SHNSF) in San Francisco – I realize that this was on my list last month, but technically this show doesn’t close until February 20th, so it’s first on my list for February as well.

I was blown away by this cast. I wrote in my review: “It’s rare to have a touring production be just as exciting as the Broadway production. I didn’t think the tour of Next to Normal could do it, but they passed expectations by a mile. Do not miss this production of Next to Normal.”

WebsiteTickets

2. Avenue Q at Orpheum Theatre (SHNSF) in San Francisco – I love this show so much. I saw the non-equity touring cast of Avenue Q at Broadway San Jose a little over a year ago and enjoyed it immensely even though theatre was way too big for the production. I have a feeling that the Orpheum Theatre will be a bit big as well, but you’ll still laugh and laugh and laugh.

Here’s an excerpt of my review: “If you’ve seen it, then beware that the intimacy of the Broadway version is all but lost in the expansiveness of the theatre and the jokes might not be as shocking (since you already know them), but you’ll still laugh. While, overall the performers are super talented, they unfortunately don’t compare to the original cast. Knowing all of this, you’ll still end up laughing and having a great night of theatre!”

I have a feeling my review will be similar. Runs February 15 – 27th, 2011.

Website | Tickets

3. Big River at Contra Costa Civic Theatre: The irrepressible Huck Finn helps his friend Jim, a slave, escape to freedom at the mouth of the Ohio River. Their hilarious, heartwarming adventures bring to life the novel’s colorful characters in a brilliant celebration of pure Americana. With a jubilant score of Cajun, country, gospel and blues, Big River is a rousing, high- spirited show that sets your hands to clapping, your feet to stomping and your heart to rise within you! Winner of seven Tony Awards including Best Musical, Score and Book, this is one the whole family will enjoy!

February 11 – March 13, 2011.

Website | Tickets

4. The Dresser at San Jose Rep: It’s 1942 in Britain and the smell of death is in the air. The sirens howl, signaling another air raid, but inside the crumbling walls of a regional theatre in the provinces the aging actor, Sir, prepares to give his 227th performance as King Lear.

Norman, Sir’s devoted, fuss-budget dresser, is barely able to take care of himself but faithfully assists Sir in near feudal servitude, massaging his ego, pampering his intellect and even creating sound effects for the Shakespearean production by Sir’s struggling troupe. This touching and poignant tribute to theatre, friendship and the human spirit in the face of great strife – be it war or one’s own debilitating mortality – proves that “the show must go on.”

January 27 – February 20th, 2011.

Website | Tickets

What shows are you planning on seeing in February?

One thought on “2011 February Bay Area Theatre Guide

  1. Well, *I’m* planning on seeing Death of a Salesman at the Pear Avenue Theatre. In fact, I’ll probably see every performance in the run!

Leave a Reply

