Bay Area Theatre: Weekend Picks, April 2-4

Here are The Broadway Critic’s picks for Bay Area Theatre this weekend:

1. Dirty Rotten Scoundrels at Broadway by the Bay – Dirty Rotten Scoundrels is a total riot. I won lottery tickets to this on Broadway and sat on the front row as Sherie Rene Scott, Norbert Leo Butz and John Lithgow all spat on me! I remember walking out of the theatre and my stomach was hurting from laughing so hard. I’m looking forward to seeing this production because I need a good laugh and also because it’s starring Robert Brewer (who’ve I worked with a couple of times) and Tom Reardon. Check out their super cool video promoting the show!

More info | Tickets

2. Ain’t Misbehavin’ at San Jose Rep – “It sparkles; it shines and most of all, it’s deliciously snazzy.” Read the full review here. San Jose Rep is swinging to the tunes of Thomas “Fats” Waller with a stellar Broadway caliber cast. The joint will be jumpin’ with an ensemble of energetic and electric performances, featuring the hottest jazz band in town guaranteed to bring down the house with a musical parade of 30 great hits! Ain’t Misbehavin’ is directed by Kent Gash and is based on an idea by Murray Horwitz and Richard Maltby, Jr.

More info | Tickets

3. The Apple Tree – The Masquers Playhouse: For my third choice, I’m recommending The Apple Tree at The Masquers Playhouse. I will note that I know nothing about The Masquers Playhouse, nor about their production qualities. Also, The Apple Tree isn’t one of my favorite shows. (I saw it on Broadway with Kristin Chenoweth and didn’t love it.) But, The Apple Tree is rarely done and so I wanted to at least, share this production with you! If you do see it, or know anything about The Masquers Playhouse, please let us know. It runs until May 1st. Maybe, I’ll get a chance to see it.

More info | Tickets

On my radar:

  • Girlfriend at Berkeley Rep – Girlfriend is the breathless testimony of a fool for love,” raves Rolling Stone, “a rock ‘n’ roll valentine that delivers subtle wisdom with an exhilarating kick.” Performances begin April 9 and continue through May 9 on Berkeley Rep’s intimate Thrust Stage. I’m off to see this next Wednesday. Also, look for my interview with Jason Hite. More info
  • Dirty Blonde at San Jose Stage Company – I’ve seen a rehearsal for this production and I can tell you that it’s something you don’t want to miss! San Jose Stage Company continually brings groundbreaking, interesting theatre to the South Bay. It’s a fascinating play about the Hollywood starlet Mae West. Do not miss this one! Opens next weekend. More info
  • To Kill a Mockingbird at Theatreworks: “When a black man is accused on little evidence of assaulting a white woman, a small-town lawyer stands for justice in the shadow of overwhelming racism in an utterly engaging tale of heartache and joy, innocence and integrity.” Sounds fantastic! Opens April 7th, 2010.
2 thoughts on “Bay Area Theatre: Weekend Picks, April 2-4

  1. Spencer–

    I saw The Apple Tree last week. The set design is incredible, the small cast works mightily, and the Adam and Eve section is lovely and beautifully performed, but the watered down orchestrations rely too much on synthesizers and no matter how well performed, they made a meager sound. Also, the show is just weird!

    I have had a hankering to do this show, so fond are my memories of the piece from having played in the pit three times in the ’70s, but as I told my friend Coley, who plays Adam, I think having seen Masquers do it has cured me of that desire–I can’t see how it will work.

    1. Interesting…

      Yeah, it’s just not one of my favorite shows. I have a friend who LOVES it! I’m still kinda curious, but not sure if I’m curious enough to drive all the way up there.

      Thanks for your input Walter.

Leave a Reply

