Theatre Preview: “The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee” @ Foothill Musical Theatre, 2/19-3/7

“Please spell excited.”

“Excited. E – X – C -I – T – E – D. Excited.”

“You are correct!”

Yes, I’m excited to see this production! I posted the full cast as well as the photos from the production a few weeks back. I’ve only seen this show once (at San Jose Rep last Summer) and I’m interested to see what Jay Manley, the director, has done! Foothill’s Lohman Theatre is definitely a more intimate space than San Jose Rep and I’m hoping that will make us feel like we are all actually in the Spelling Bee! (Even though, as an audience member, you do have a chance to be an actual speller!)

It opens this weekend (February 19th) – though you can head over there on Thursday night for “free preview night”. But make sure you get there early because I have a feeling it might fill up!

I’ll be looking out for David Cates, Kateri McRae, Kristin Walter and Walter Mayes!

Of course, if you do see it then let us all know what you think.

The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee at Foothill Musical Theatre

Directed by Jay Manley
Musical Direction by Mark Hanson
Choreography by Kateri McRae
Costume Design by Julie Engelbrecht
Set and Lighting Design by Bruce McLeod

Performance Dates and Times:
February 19 – March 7, 2010
Thursdays – Saturdays at 8pm
Sunday Matinees at 2pm
Saturday Matinees, February 27 and March 6 at 2pm

Buy tickets | More info

5 thoughts on “Theatre Preview: “The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee” @ Foothill Musical Theatre, 2/19-3/7

  1. Saw the preview last week. LOVED IT. I saw the original Broadway cast, the tour (in SF), the SJ Rep production, and now Foothill’s. I can safely say that Foothill’s stands proudly next to those other three productions. I have a few minor quibbles (that I won’t get into here, as I have too many friends in the production), but overall I think the show is fantastic.

  2. Are they still doing audience participation on this? I’m somewhat concerned, from reading the review and “other spellers” on the cast list, that they’ve removed that aspect of the show. I guess it shouldn’t be a huge deal, but I was sort of looking forward to that.

  3. They are indeed doing audience participation. In fact, I was one of the volunteer spellers at the preview performance.

Leave a Reply

